# COUNCIL

# Wednesday 2 July 2014

**COUNCILLORS PRESENT:** Councillors Abbasi (Lord Mayor), Simmons (Deputy Lord Mayor), Humberstone (Sheriff), Anwar, Benjamin, Brown, Clack, Curran, Darke, Fooks, Fry, Gant, Goddard, Gotch, Kennedy, Lygo, Pressel, Price, Rowley, Royce, Sanders, Simm, Sinclair, Tanner, Thomas, Wade and Wolff.

## 11. WELCOME BY THE LORD MAYOR

The Lord Mayor welcomed all to the special meeting of Council.

#### 12. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mohammed Altaf-Khan, Laurence Baxter, Ruthi Brandt, Anne-Marie Canning, Mark Clarkson, Colin Cook, Van Coulter, Mick Haines, Thomas Hayes, Sam Hollick, Ben Lloyd-Shogbesan, Sajjad Malik, Michele Paule, Scott Seamons, Val Smith, Richard Tarver, Ed Turner, Louise Upton, Oscar Van Nooijen and Ruth Wilkinson.

#### 13. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interests were declared.

## 14. PROPOSAL OF MOTION

The Lord Mayor invited Councillor Bob Price to propose the conferment of the honorary freedom of the City on Professor Christopher Brown, CBE.

Councillor Bob Price proposed the Motion.

## 15. SECOND AND SUPPORT OF MOTION

The Lord Mayor invited Mr Jim Campbell to second the conferment and Councillor Elsie Benjamin to support the conferment and Dr. Alice Prochaska, Principle of Somerville College to address the ceremony.

Mr Jim Campbell seconded the conferment, supported by Councillor Elsie Benjamin and Dr. Alice Prochaska addressed the ceremony.

## 16. COUNCIL TO VOTE ON MOTION

Following a vote, Council resolved to confer the honorary freedom of the City on Professor Christopher Brown, CBE.

# 17. CLOSING SPEECHES

Following the presentation of the Scroll of Admission, Professor Christopher Brown addressed Council.

The meeting started at 5.00 pm and ended at 6.00 pm